About

I grew up in Fairhope, Alabama on the Eastern Shore of Mobile Bay. I spent my childhood fishing, skiing, swimming, sailing, and pursuing many other activities associated with living next to the water. I also was an avid equestrian, competing regularly in dressage and combined training events. I spent days riding through farms and woodlands in the rural areas of Baldwin County.

I attended college at the University of South Alabama. There I was a Chi Omega and a member of a number for honor societies. I attained my Masters Degree in Counseling at Georgia State University and had the honor of getting my doctoral degree at the University of Texas at Austin.

In 2000, I moved to Nashville to begin my career as a Psychologist in private practice. Around the same time, I met my future husband, Brian. We were married in 2002 and had our daughter, Isabelle, in 2003.

My family has lived in the Milton for 10 years. We fell in love with its horse farms, trees, and pastoral land. For as long as I can remember, I have wanted a small farm with lots of animals and of course, horses. We now live that life on a small horse farm on Birmingham Road we have been renovating for the past six years. We have our menagerie of animals including ducks, turkeys, a goose, cats, two mini-pigs - and, of course, horses. My daughter and I ride on our property and at nearby Birmingham Park.

My most recent project was designing and building our new post and beam barn, which is modeled in traditional style. We are proud that it contributes to the rural character of our city while also serving as a wonderful place for our family to spend time. My home office is in the loft and nearing completion and I look forward to sharing a relaxing pastoral atmosphere with my clients.

There are several things that people need to know about me as a person. First, I am an introvert. No this does no mean I am shy or that I don't like people. It means I get my energy when I alone or around just a few people. Unlike extroverts who love to be around people and in any social setting, I am just fine being alone thinking or reading. I study something I am interested in until I figure out how to fix the problems or design something that is both attractive and efficient. This takes place in my work as a therapist, at home when remodeling or repairing my home and and with my relationships with others and my animals. I want to find the best options and find the one that is the best fit for the situation.
Second, I am passionate about the things I care about. I put my heart into it. With my heart comes my thought and my actions to create something that is hopefully positive for everyone involved.